Acquisition Announcement: Something to be Proud Of – a vibrant coming-of-age story from Anna Zoe Quirke

Posted in Acquisition Announcement on Thu, 19 October at 2.38 pm

Little Tiger has acquired a vibrant coming-of-age story from debut author Anna Zoe Quirke – winner of the Northern Writer’s Debut Award for YA Fiction 2022 and shortlisted in the PFD Queer Fiction Prize 2022.

Publishing in June 2024, Something to Be Proud Of is a joyful celebration of queer friendship and finding community – the perfect read for Pride month and beyond!

Mattie Whitehead, Senior Commissioning Editor at Little Tiger, acquired world all-languages rights in Something to be Proud Of and a second standalone YA novel from Lucy Irvine at Peter Fraser and Dunlop Literary Agents for publication in June 2024. The second book will follow in June 2025. The cover for Something to be Proud Of is illustrated by Lucía Gomez Alcaide. Sophie Bransby, Designer at Little Tiger, acquired cover illustration rights from Will Drayson, Advocate Art.

Imogen Quinn is a chaotic bisexual with dreams of becoming a stand-up comedian, crushing stereotypes about autistic people. When she decides to put on a pride festival that’s accessible for everyone, she enlists the help of the openly gay captain of the football team, Ollie Armstrong.

Dealing with the fallout from his parents’ divorce, Ollie is initially hesitant. But it doesn’t take long for him to be swept up by Imogen’s passion, and he’s not the only one. Joined by the (infuriatingly perfect) head girl, musicians, an artist and a star baker – a dream team soon assembles to help plan pride and tackle injustices in their school and beyond. You’d better listen out – they’re getting ready to make some noise.

Packed full of fun, forever friendships and fighting back, this YA debut is perfect for fans of I Kissed Shara Wheeler, Gwen and Art are Not in Love, Feel Good, Heartstopper and Not My Problem.

Mattie Whitehead, Senior Commissioning Editor said:

Something to be Proud Of truly is something to be proud of. Anna has written an authentic coming of age story with a strong voice, great characters and an insightful look into gender and sexual identity and neurodiversity, and how we could and should be more inclusive as a society. With friendship at the heart of the story, laugh-out-loud dialogue and a gorgeous slow-burn romance, readers are in for a treat. 

 Anna Zoe Quirke said:

 With all its hope, rage, and an entire cast of queer and disabled characters, Something to be Proud Of is the story I both really needed and wanted to write. Imogen and Ollie were excellent company and brought me so much joy while I was writing their story over the COVID lockdowns. I’m beyond grateful to Little Tiger and my agent, Lucy Irvine, for giving me the chance to hopefully pass some of that joy along to readers. I’m also so grateful to Lucía for the beautiful cover that perfectly captures the Imogen and Ollie that have existed in my brain for years!

Lucy Irvine said: 

The title says it all, really – I could not be prouder of Anna and their incredible story of friendship, community and activism. Imogen and Ollie stole my heart from their very first chapters, and I hope that all readers will see themselves within this cast. Delighted that Something to be Proud Of has found a home with Mattie and the brilliant Little Tiger team.

Little Tiger will publish Something to be Proud Of on 6th June 2024.

Anna Zoe Quirke (she/they) is a queer and neurodivergent writer and librarian from Lancashire. Her favourite thing to do is to write stories about chaotic queer people doing their darn best and finding the people who love them because of who they are and not in spite of it. Something to be Proud of is their first novel.

Author social media handles

Instagram: @annazoequirke

Twitter: @annazoequirke

 

 

 

RELATED BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

Read more

Something to be Proud Of

Author: Anna Zoe Quirke