When the Wild Calls

Where the World Turns Wild, Book 2

Author: Nicola Penfold

£7.99

ISBN: 9781788956215 Category:

PUBLICATION DATE: April 11 2024 (Not yet published - orders will be dispatched on or around publication date)

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 288 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

The journey winds through me, twisted and turned, like a difficult second spine…

Having escaped their city, Juniper Green and her brother Bear have settled in Ennerdale with their dad and his family. Every day the Wild introduces them to a new wonder, but Juniper can’t stop worrying about her grandmother and best friend left behind. When she hears news that disease has entered the city, she’s determined to bring her loved ones to safety.

Trapped in a city riddled with disease and run by a ruthless leader, Etienne longs for the Wild. With the guards becoming more aggressive to counteract the growing rebellion, Etienne’s prepared to fight for his freedom. But will he be able to protect himself and keep those around him safe until Juniper returns from the Wild?

The compelling and thought-provoking sequel to the much-loved WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD, this ecological adventure is perfect for fans of THE LAST BEAR, RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLD and THE LAST WILD.

PRAISE FOR WHEN THE WILD CALLS:

“A triumph of a sequel. Emotional punch and ecological awareness wrapped up in an exciting adventure. It was a joy to return.” Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear

“Brave, insightful and beautifully written” Zillah Bethell, author of The Shark Caller

“Penfold’s writing is startling. It delivers such a crucial eco message, raw in its honesty, poetic and heartfelt, and ultimately sings with hope.” Jasbinder Bilan, author of Aarti and the Blue Gods

“A brilliant and thoughtfully written ecological adventure … Love, love, loved it!” A M Howell, author of Peril on the Atlantic

“Wonderful, wild and warm-hearted – a thought-provoking read with a deep love of nature nestled at its core. Perfect for earth-conscious, adventure-thirsty young readers.” Sophie Kirtley, author of The Wild Way Home

“A beautifully written story of friendship, bravery and our connection to the wilderness. I fell in love with Juniper and Etienne all over again. Penfold’s heartfelt stories are the ones our planet needs. I loved it.” Tamsin Winter, author of Being Miss Nobody

“A gripping dystopian tale … Nicola is brilliant at telling important stories and filling them with heart and hope.” Judith Eagle, author of The Accidental Stowaway

In stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “When the Wild Calls”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave the field below empty!

Meet the author

SIMILAR BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

  • Read more

    Beyond the Frozen Horizon

    Author: Nicola Penfold

    £7.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Climate Action

    Author: Georgina Stevens

    Illustrator: Katie Rewse

    £14.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Where The World Turns Wild

    Author: Nicola Penfold

    £7.99
    Add to basket