When Shadows Fall

Author: Sita Brahmachari

, Illustrator: Natalie Sirett

£12.99

ISBN: 9781788953160 Categories: ,

PUBLICATION DATE: November 11 2021

BINDING: Hardback

EXTENT: 384 pages

DIMENSIONS: 150 x 190 mm

ILLUSTRATIONS: Illustrations, black and white

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes, a small green space in a sprawling grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future – until Kai’s family suffers a huge loss.

Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a new and more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and new classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?

A heart-breaking and poignant novel from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari, for fans of THE BLACK FLAMINGO, AND THE STARS WERE BURNING BRIGHTLY and POET X.

PRAISE FOR WHEN SHADOWS FALL:

“Full of empathy and hope … Kai’s story is a must read for teens to explore how easily things can fall apart but also how we can heal.” – A. M. Dassu, author of Boy, Everywhere

“A song of growing up, grief and the power of connection, When Shadows Fall is an illuminating and lyrical read” – Polly Ho-Yen, author of Boy in the Tower

“Beautifully told with real care, tenderness and heart” – Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird

“Sita’s lyrical prose captures the raw emotions of adolescence – of a young person navigating their way through grief and troubled times. A book for all of us.” – Gill Lewis, author of Swan Song

“A heart-wrenching story about loss and art and nature, about how things can fall apart and how friends stand beside one another no matter what” – Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of How to Change the World

“Empathetic, original, searingly sad in places, but full of hope, & the power of friendship, art, music, wild places, and ravens” – Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

“A gripping, tender, terrifying work… Impactful, innovative, and deeply moving.” – Sinéad O’Hart, author of The Eye of the North

“When Shadows Fall is an invitation to join a community at the heart of which is the tale of a young man gripped by tragedy and trauma. The book offers hope though mutual support and a focus in figuring out what really matters… I was moved and uplifted.” – Michael Rosen

In stock

2 reviews for When Shadows Fall

  1. Jess

    Beautiful story equally heartbreaking as it was hopeful. A strong reminder of how friendships can help you get through anything, and the power of loyalty even through the hardest times. A brilliant book that everyone should read.

  2. Graham F

    This is a story that will shatter your heart into tiny fragments before carefully piecing them back together. A tragic tale of loss, grief and a life spiralling out of control, that ultimately shines with hope and the power of friendship. Such a moving story that highlights inequality and the ease at which society lets people fall through the cracks. Delicately crafted, Sita Brahmachari mixes verse and prose beautifully, and the illustrations compliment the story wonderfully. Honestly, it’s a genuine masterpiece! I loved it.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Meet the author

Meet the illustrator

Natalie Sirett

Natalie Sirett is an internationally exhibited, multimedia artist, interested in us, our icons, our stories. Her work has often explored issues of body image culture and the growing pains of adolescen…

SIMILAR BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

  • Read more

    Patron Saints of Nothing

    Author: Randy Ribay

    £7.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Wranglestone

    Author: Darren Charlton

    £7.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    A Change Is Gonna Come

    Author: Various Authors

    £7.99
    Add to basket