Something to be Proud Of

Author: Anna Zoe Quirke

£8.99

ISBN: 9781788956901 Categories: ,

PUBLICATION DATE: June 6 2024 (Not yet published - orders will be dispatched on or around publication date)

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 416 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

“A sparkling debut about friendship, solidarity and the joy and heartache of queer teenhood, from Anna Zoe Quirke, a witty, fresh new voice in YA.” Lex Croucher, author of Gwen and Art are Not in Love

Imogen Quinn is a chaotic bisexual with dreams of becoming a stand-up comedian, crushing stereotypes about autistic people. When she decides to put on a pride festival that’s accessible for everyone, she enlists the help of the openly gay captain of the football team, Ollie Armstrong.

Dealing with the fallout from his parents’ divorce, Ollie is initially hesitant. But it doesn’t take long for him to be swept up by Imogen’s passion, and he’s not the only one. Joined by the (infuriatingly perfect) head girl, musicians, an artist and a star baker – a dream team soon assembles to help plan pride and tackle injustices in their school and beyond. You’d better listen out – they’re getting ready to make some noise.

Packed full of fun, forever friendships and fighting back, this YA debut is perfect for fans of I Kissed Shara Wheeler, Gwen and Art are Not in Love, Feel Good, Heartstopper and Not My Problem.

“Furiously joyful and brimming with hope. Something to be Proud Of kicks open doors, demanding more for inclusivity. Brilliant magical stuff!” Lizzie Huxley-Jones, author of Hits Different

“A study in the strength, determination, and love that young people can bring to the world, Something to be Proud Of is both powerful and hilarious at once.” Anika Hussain, author of This is How You Fall in Love

“This hilarious comedy will make anyone who is queer and neurodiverse feel seen, uplifted and treasured.” Lauren James, author of The Quiet at the End of the World

“A funny, inspiring story about the importance of friendship and fighting for a more inclusive world” Sophie Cameron, author of Away with Words

Something To Be Proud Of is a book full of passion and drama, with moments to make you laugh, gasp and even punch the air with satisfaction! It’s a story about the power of friendship and the importance of standing up for each other, making mistakes and doing your best, and learning that we are always stronger together. It’s a message we all need right now.” Sarah Hagger-Holt, author of The Fights That Make Us

“Inspiring, uplifting, and completely fabulous!” Sinéad O’Hart, author of The Time Tider

In stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Something to be Proud Of”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave the field below empty!

Meet the author

SIMILAR BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

  • Read more

    If You Still Recognise Me

    Author: Cynthia So

    £8.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Only This Beautiful Moment

    Author: Abdi Nazemian

    £8.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Proud

    Author: Various Authors

    £8.99
    Add to basket