How To Be A Human

Author: Karen McCombie

£6.99

ISBN: 9781788951098 Categories: ,

PUBLICATION DATE: August 4 2021

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 256 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

Who said friends have to match to matter?

When the Star Boy’s space-pod crashes in the grounds of Fairfield Academy he knows he must seek shelter. Taking refuge in the school’s boiler room to await rescue he discovers that the room’s small window is the perfect place to watch humans go by.

The Star Boy knows about humans from his Earth lessons but no one from his planet has ever studied them up close. Now he has the perfect opportunity. There are two humans in particular that catch his attention – a boy called Wes and a girl named Kiki. But as his curiosity grows so does his courage and, making a momentous decision, the Star Boy follows Wes and Kiki into class … and into their lives.

A warm and otherworldly story about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, for fans of Tamsin Winter, Cath Howe and Ross Welford.

3 reviews for How To Be A Human

  1. Euan Hosie

    How to be a Human by Karen McCombie

    The chapters in this book reminded me a bit of Wonder as they switch between the three main characters perspectives Kiki, Starboy (or his human name Stan Boyd) and Wes.

    This book starts with a big storm which makes Starboy’s spaceship falls to earth after an accidental bump in space. When Kiki falls out with her friend, she finds a new group of friends but they aren’t very kind. She notices everything is getting stranger everytime her friends aren’t nice to her and she can see things she shouldn’t be able to see. Kiki makes friends with Wes and together they discover Starboy and help him learn more about life on earth.

    This book was really good so I find it hard to choose a favourite bit but my favourite bit of this book was when Starboy was going invisible and visible. It made me laugh!

    You should read this book if you like books about new friends and science fiction.

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  2. Schizanthus Nerd

    “It was ALIENS! I watched them out of my bedroom window!”

    This is a heartwarming story of what happens when a boy from another world meets two aliens from Earth.

    Star Boy has taught himself some of Earth’s languages and has learned some things about its inhabitants from the Master but he’s never had the opportunity to observe them this closely before.

    Kiki has a new group of friends at Riverside Academy. She loves being part of the Popular Crew but she feels bad about ditching her old friends.

    Wes used to be homeschooled and doesn’t fit in at Riverside Academy. Although he hasn’t made any friends yet, the bullies have definitely noticed him.

    Together these two lonely humans and Star Boy will learn what it means to be human, the wonders that exist all around us and the value of friendship. I adored Star Boy, whose enthusiasm for all things Earth could very well make you see the things you take for granted in a whole new light. I’m certain that it’s no coincidence that he has three hearts.

    Although adult me found this story very predictable, I stilled smiled every time Star Boy encountered some new reason to be joyful. Kid me would have been enthralled, no doubt searching the skies for a new alien friend. Both me’s are hoping for a sequel.

    Thank you so much to NetGalley and Stripes Publishing, an imprint of Little Tiger Group, for the opportunity to read this book.

  3. Elaine Nicholson

    I really liked this book, it’s reasonably short and very action packed. The illustrations are lovely too!

    All of the characters are well written and the author made me feel like I knew them -very rounded.

    The ending did take me very much by surprise, and when I initially finished the book I wasn’t sure how I felt , however, having slept on it and processed it overnight, it actually teaches a very good life lesson for kids.

    I think there are a lot of strings left dangling though, second book underway?

    My thanks to Netgalley and Little Tiger Group for the advance copy in exchange for an honest review

    • George Hanratty

      Thanks for the review. Yes a second book will be coming in 2022.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Meet the author