Goodbye, Bear

Author: Jane Chapman

£11.99

ISBN: 9781801041720 Category:

PUBLICATION DATE: February 3 2022 (Not yet published - orders will be dispatched on or around publication date)

BINDING: Hardback

EXTENT: 32 pages

DIMENSIONS: 250 x 286 mm

Out of stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

A heartfelt story, deftly written and beautifully illustrated by the inimitable Jane Chapman.

“I miss Bear…” sniffed Mole, “but I know he wouldn’t want us to be sad.”

“How can we feel happy?” puzzled Beaver. “Everything is different now.”

Bear died on a Friday, as sun speckled the grass and caterpillars nibbled the leaves. Beaver and Mole are devastated by the loss of their friend. They share their sadness and anger, but find joy in their memories and stories of Bear. Together they decide to finish Bear’s treehouse only to discover that he had a surprise waiting for them all along. One that they will carry in their hearts for ever.

It can be difficult to know what to do when someone dies. Grief is all-consuming, complex and powerful. This uplifting, gentle and reassuring story about the death of a loved one encourages those who have lost, both young and old, to celebrate and remember their loved one, while also finding solitude in friendship and community during times of hardship. The ideal companion for readers of Badger’s Parting Gift, The Memory Tree and Michael Rosen’s Sad Book.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Goodbye, Bear”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Meet the author

Jane Chapman

Jane Chapman has been illustrating for Little Tiger Press for almost 25 years and has produced many bestselling and award-winning titles. She and illustrator Tim Warnes have two sons. Jane lives in Do…