Here Lie the Secrets

Author: Emma Young

£7.99

ISBN: 9781788950343 Category:

PUBLICATION DATE: June 25 2020

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 384 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.orgBuy ebook now

Mia’s best friend Holly died when they were thirteen. But years later, Holly still hasn’t left her.

Spending the summer in New York, Mia is hoping to escape the visions of Holly that haunt her life at home. There she meets Rav, a parapsychology student, who convinces her to take part in a study into why some people see ghosts. Soon she is caught up in the investigation of Halcyon House, which is reputed to be haunted by a poltergeist. As Mia confronts her fears, what she learns about the house and herself will change her life forever.

A tense psychological thriller for fans of ONE OF US IS LYING, A GOOD GIRL’S GUIDE TO MURDER and THIS LIE WILL KILL YOU.

1 review for Here Lie the Secrets

  1. Heather

    This book is promoted as a tense psychological thriller. It’s not. However, it’s a thought provoking story about guilt, loss, grief and forgiveness, which I enjoyed very much. Quite an emotional read.

    It didn’t hook me straight away, rather a slow start, then Young introduced some twists and turns towards the end of the book.

    There were a few difficult topics covered which Young wove into the plot sympathetically, including bullying, domestic/child abuse, alcoholism, mental illness, loss, grief and visual hallucination. The core of the story was really about the exploration of grief, loss and guilt intertwined with paranormal events and hallucination. Quite a mix. With a little bit of a ghost story thrown in; dealing with ghosts of the past.

    Mia lost her friend Holly at the age of 13, a very difficult experience and ever since Holly has haunted Mia, turning up at every opportune moment. Is she a real ghost or just an hallucination. Mia went to New York to stay with her aunt Sadie, to catch up with her firmed Tamara, not realising that she had a lodger, which was a little disconcerting.

    The lodger Rav, was a parapsychology student and he persuaded Mia to take part in a study in why people see ghosts and then involved her in investigating Halycon House, which was assumed to be haunted by a poltergeist. You have to read the book to find out what happens. Quite an interesting result.

    Young’s research into para-psychology was detailed and the knowledge she shared was really powerful. And what did attract my attention was the mention of an Art Illustration ‘Here lie the secrets’. Visitors of Green-Wood Cemetery are invited to write their secrets on paper, to then place them into the grave.

    I would recommend this, especially if you want a quick and interesting read around paranormal activity.

    Thank you to the author, Netgalley and Little Tiger Group for this ARC provided in exchange for this unbiased review.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.

Meet the author

Emma Young

Emma Young is a writer and editor, specialising in children’s fiction. She is the main writer behind the GIRLS CAN VLOG series for tweens which has been translated into 14 languages. Emma lives in Eas…