Tourmaline and the Island of Elsewhere

Tourmaline

Author: Ruth Lauren

£7.99

ISBN: 9781788955911 Category:

PUBLICATION DATE: March 2 2023

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 368 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.orgBuy ebook now

“An explosion of imagination – characters, world-building and story are all on point”Irish Examiner

When Tourmaline’s mother goes missing on a search for precious artefacts, Tourmaline sets off to find her with her best friend George, her new friend (former foe) Mai and her limitless determination. On their adventure, they encounter a band of female pirates, a maze of talking trees and a series of challenges that test the children and their friendship. But will it be enough to reunite Tourmaline with her mother?

The first book in a fun, feminist fantasy adventure series, with a protagonist that flies off the page and into readers’ imaginations. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Vashti Hardy and Abi Elphinstone.

PRAISE FOR TOURMALINE AND THE ISLAND OF ELSEWHERE

“I absolutely loved it, and couldn’t put it down – it’s extraordinary, and I hope readers will be delighted with it! This unforgettable adventure will bring you to places beyond your wildest imagination… All aboard!” – Sinéad O’Hart, author of THE TIME TIDER

“An exciting, magical adventure, written with wit and warmth and a wonderfully bold and bolshy heroine. It feels like an instant classic.” – Sophie Cameron, author of OUR SISTER, AGAIN

“A delightful romp of a tale as we follow the intrepid Tourmaline and her brilliant sidekicks on the adventure of a lifetime to find her mum. Sharply drawn, beautifully observed and with plenty of action and humour to make the reader gasp and shriek in equal measure.” – Lou Abercrombie, author of COMING UP FOR AIR

“A brilliantly written and spirited adventure filled with magic, mystery, peril, humour and some stunning twists and turns that completely captivated me. Can’t wait for next adventure with the indomitable Tourmaline – LOVED it.” – Kevin Cobane, educator

“There is something unexpected around every corner keeping them, and us, the reader, on our toes in this thrilling adventure story. The writing is brilliantly accomplished and you will soon lose yourself in the story.”Armadillo Magazine

In stock

2 reviews for Tourmaline and the Island of Elsewhere

  1. Joanna Lai

    Tourmaline has a habit of sneaking into people’s places and taking shiny objects from them like a magpie. It is when she is in the middle of doing just that that she hears about her mother, Persephone, an archaeologist, has gone missing in one of her mission to dig out artefacts. There is something mysterious about that mission though. The two professors are set to hide the real situation from Tourmaline and are not going to search for her mother. Head-strong, Tourmaline, is determined to set off to rescue her mother.

    The opening chapter pulls the readers into the mystery surrounding Persephone’s disappearance right away. The characters are both believable and likeable.

    It is a very engrossing read and I would highly recommend this to Sci-Fi mystery fans. I can almost picture this being remade into a movie — an Artemis Fowl meets Indiana Jones kind of movie, maybe?

  2. Tamsin S

    I was in the mood for a magical adventure story and Tourmaline and the Island of Elsewhere absolutely fit the bill!

    Tourmaline’s mother is an artefact hunter who has gone missing but no one at the university she works for is looking for her so Tourmaline takes it upon herself to go and find her accompanied by her two friends George and Mai. Together they encounter a brilliant band of female pirates (who both help and hinder them) and explore a magical mysterious island.

    The characters were the best part of the story – I loved anxious George who constantly put all of his worries to one side to do more and more dangerous things. He was such a loveable character, a really loyal friend and I thought it was lovely to see how Mai and Tourmaline knew him so well, they recognised his feelings and helped him to become braver.

    Throughout the book there was a subtle, but cleverly done, discussion of who owns historical artefacts and where they should be kept – it was a great link to so many current discussions in a different context.

    Overall, a really fun adventure story with strong female characters and great themes of friendship, bravery and integrity.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave the field below empty!

Meet the author

Ruth Lauren

Ruth Lauren has been a teacher and worked in lots of different offices, but she likes writing best, as well as walking in the woods, cheese, orchids, going to the movies, and reading as many books as…

SIMILAR BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

  • Read more

    The Extraordinary Voyage of Katy Willacott

    Author: Sharon Gosling

    £7.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    The House of Hidden Wonders

    Author: Sharon Gosling

    £6.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    The Time Tider

    Author: Sinéad O’Hart

    £7.99
    Add to basket