Skyborn

Author: Sinéad O’Hart

£6.99

ISBN: 9781788953054 Category:

PUBLICATION DATE: June 10 2021

BINDING: Paperback

EXTENT: 384 pages

DIMENSIONS: 129 x 198 mm

In stock

Buy from Bookshop.org

The circus has seen better days, but for Bastjan it’s home. He will do anything he can to save it, even if it means participating in a death-defying new act. But when that fails to draw in the crowds, the ringmaster makes a deal with a mysterious man by the name of Dr Bauer.

In exchange for his help, Bauer wants a box that belonged to Bastjan’s mother and came from her birthplace – the faraway island of Melita. Bastjan is desperate to keep his only memento of his mother out of Bauer’s hands. And as he uncovers more about the strange objects contained within, he realizes it’s not only the circus that’s in terrible danger…

A fast-paced and atmospheric fantasy adventure for fans of NEVERMOOR, THE UNCOMMONERS and SKYSONG.

Praise for THE EYE OF THE NORTH:

“A charming, thrilling tale of adventure” – Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS

“O’Hart’s writing crackles with imagination” – Jennifer Bell, author of THE UNCOMMONERS

“A wonderfully exciting adventure” – Abi Elphinstone, author of SKYSONG

4 reviews for Skyborn

  1. Euan

    Skyborn by Sinéad O’Hart

    Skyborn is about Bastjan who is in the runner beans, a group of tumblers in the circus. When a nasty old ringmaster called Cyrus decides to put Bastjan on the high rope to perform his mother’s act but he fails, Cyrus had to find a new headline act and goes off in search of one. Bastjan feels the need to return something on behalf of his mum who took it accidentally as part of her treasure box.

    **spoiler** My favourite bit about this book when shape shifter stops Cyrus escaping in the pod and got revenge.

    You should read this book if you like stories about shapeshifters, mean villans and the circus. It is a mix of real life and fantasy.

    I felt emotional reading this book because there are lots of feelings to explore like terror, happiness, sadness and excitement. I have never read a book about a circus before.

  2. apocketfuloftomes

    Skyborn by Sinéad O’Hart was a fast-paced magical read full of eye-popping performances, adventure, and an amazing cast of characters.

    Circus, airships, London, islands ̶ Skyborn will definitely take the readers to a roller coaster ride of adventure flawlessly intertwined together. I was hooked from the start and I just can’t stop reading. It’s action-packed that readers would never get bored and Sinéad O’Hart has a way with storytelling! The way she sets and describes the scenes will transport the readers there. It’s so unpredictable that I devoured the book in one sitting.

    The characters are well-fleshed out. Bastjan is a likable and relatable character. He’s courageous and steadfast, and the way he’s longing to connect with his dead mother felt realistic. Also, the side characters are quirky and fun. They are so supportive of each other. The found family trope is well-developed, it’s perfect. Also, the villain is despicable ugh!

    Overall, Skyborn is an imaginative and thrilling read that both young and adult readers would enjoy. It left me wanting to read more books from the author. And I did not know that this is a prequel to her novel, Eye of the North, so would read that the soonest.

    Thank you, Little Tiger Group for the e-ARC of Skyborn. All thoughts and opinions are mine.

  3. Schizanthus Nerd

    Bastjan has been raised in the circus. His mother, who was the star of the show, died while performing her act. Since then he’s been reliant upon his found family, the other performers. When the ringmaster (boo!) makes a deal with a stranger, Dr Bauer (BOO!), Bastjan’s life becomes much more complicated.

    From the reviews I’ve read, readers loved ‘The Eye of the North’ and have been delighted to delve into Bastjan’s backstory. Without having read that, I found myself more interested in Alice’s story in ‘Skyborn’ and am disappointed with where we left her. I’m hoping her story will continue in ‘The Eye of the North’.

    I did like Bastjan and really liked Crake, a strongman with a heart of gold, but Alice and her protective dog, Ware, stole the show for me. I want to learn more about Dawara, the Silent City and the Tunnellers.

    I would be interested in rereading this book once I’ve read ‘The Eye of the North’ to see if that helps me get caught up in the magic.

    Thank you so much to NetGalley and Stripes Publishing, an imprint of Little Tiger Group, for the opportunity to read this book. I’m rounding up from 3.5 stars.

  4. Sarah Forestwood

    Wow! Did I read a book or watch a movie?

    Skyborn is so vivid and candid that I lost track of time the moment I started reading and throughout until the end.

    Sinéad is a star storyteller! Her work is like a 3D camera capturing and delivering the dimensions of place, atmosphere and action with depth by putting the reader in the scenes with her characters. I must admit that I lived Sinéad’s Skyborn!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Meet the author

SIMILAR BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE

  • Read more

    The Star-spun Web

    Author: Sinéad O’Hart

    £6.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    Where The World Turns Wild

    Author: Nicola Penfold

    £6.99
    Add to basket
  • Read more

    The Eye of the North

    Author: Sinéad O’Hart

    £6.99
    Add to basket