We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.    Accept this cookie   Find out more

Tiger Blog

Sophia Bennett's Following Ophelia
Monday, 30 November -0001
Posted On 2016-11-23 16:17:01 |  Last Update 2016-11-24 16:26:38 |  Read 916 times | 0 Comments

Beauty. Desire. Betrayal. Announcing the brand new YA series from Sophia Bennett, and the most glamorous cover reveal of the season.

We are very excited to announce the sizzling and sumptuous new historical YA romance series from Sophia Bennett, beginning with Following Ophelia, to be published on 9 March 2017. If you’re desperate for some Romantics, this is the series for you, following Mary Adams into the rebellious world of Victorian London’s Pre-Raphaelite artists. With glamorous parties, gorgeous dresses and tantalizing scandal you won’t want to miss this dazzling adventure.


When Mary Adams sees Millais’ depiction of the tragic Ophelia, a whole new world opens up for her. Determined to find out more about the beautiful girl in the painting, she hears the story of Lizzie Siddal – a girl from a modest background, not unlike her own, who has found fame and fortune against the odds. Mary sets out to become a Pre-Raphaelite muse, too, and reinvents herself as Persephone Lavelle. But as she fights her way to become the new face of London’s glittering art scene, ‘Persephone’ ends up mingling with some of the city’s more nefarious types and is forced to make some impossible choices. Will Persephone be forced to betray those she loves, and even the person she once was, if she is to achieve her dreams?

It is a whirlwind story of art, passion and underworld adventures that will enchant the reader.


Who were the Pre-Raphaelites?

The Pre-Raphaelites were founded in London in 1848, and began as a secret society of young artists and writers. Their key rule of thought was their controversial opposition to the Royal Academy’s artistic ideal, which particularly revered in the work of Raphael. The Pre-Raphaelites believed in nature and realism, even when approaching religious and mythological subjects. They were inspired by literature, modern society, love and death. Its principal members were John Everett Millais, William Holman Hunt and Dante Gabriel Rossetti. The movement entered a second surge of popularity in 1860, where the symbolism and style of their work became highly fashionable.


The artists' flamboyant lifestyle provides a colourful backdrop to our story, so keep your eyes peeled as some of the era’s key characters make cameo appearances. Stripes are delighted to be working with Sophia, who is highly passionate about the Pre-Raphaelite era and her move into writing historical fiction for the first time.

“Since my teens I’ve been in love with fine art, and the creative geniuses who broke the rules to change the way we see the world. No one broke the rules quite like the Pre-Raphaelites, or portrayed their muses with such obsession and intensity. Persephone Lavelle wants to be one of the ‘stunners’ to take Victorian society by storm.”


The women of the Pre-Raphaelite movement were often the unsung heroes, working tirelessly to put their own creative output onto the scene. As fans of Sophia’s will know, her writing promises that there will be much more in store than a simple romance, and Mary will see fit to follow her own path to find her dreams. “My heroines are never mere muses, so Persephone has a lot of adventures in store and the personality to match.”


Commissioning Editor Katie Jennings can’t wait for you all to dive into the past with Sophia, and teases a little of what’s in store... “The queen of contemporary YA turns her hand to the rock-and-roll world of the Pre-Raphaelites, with its enfant terrible artists and rebel muses who together tore up the rule book of Victorian England.”


Now it's time to reveal the stunning cover art, designed by Paul Coomey. And the most important question remains...


...

...

...



Of course she is! Meet Mary, star of Following Ophelia, published 9 March 2017.


 
Follow Sophia on Twitter  @sophiabennett

A thrilling YA, perfect for fans of THE LUXE series and A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY. Stripes will publish Following Ophelia in March 2017, with a second book to follow later in the year. Sophia Bennett’s debut novel, Threads, won the Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition in 2009. She has since published six further novels for young teens, including The Look and Love Song. Sophia has been called ‘the queen of teen dreams’ by journalist Amanda Craig, for her exploration of the worlds of fashion, art and music. Her books have sold internationally to over 16 countries and there are plans to make Threads into a children’s TV series.

Visit www.sophiabennett.com




Related Books

Comments


Write A Comment

Your Name


Your Email Address


Your Comment Note: HTML is not translated!

Enter the code in the box below:



Search News
Search  for: